The Houston Chronicle reported the latest arrest made for intoxication manslaughter and intoxicated assault in Harris County, Texas. Harris County is one of the top areas in the country for vehicle fatalities related to alcohol. The Harris County District Attorney’s Office for many years has employed specialized prosecutors and investigators to handle this very complex cases.
In Texas, intoxication assault is a second degree felony with a punishment range of from 2 to 20 years in TDC (prison) along with a fine. Under the right circumstances, it is possible to receive probation for such a charge in Texas, but it can also involve jail time as a condition of probation. Intoxication assault is one offense degree lower than intoxication manslaughter , meaning it is a third degree felony which a punishment range from 2 years up to 10 years in TDC (prison) along with a fine. Again, it is possible to receive probation for the this charge under certain circumstances that I can fully explore for you if you are facing this serious situation.
If you or a loved one, is charged with intoxication manslaughter or intoxication assault, call me today to assist you.